A. Eid: GA Explorer Updates – February 2017


New Blog Posts:

GMac: The Next Generation (1 of 2)
In the summer of 2003, I was almost at the end of my M.Sc. thesis. One day I was surfing the web searching for some references to add to the thesis I’d been writing. I ran into Mikael Nilsson’s interesting M.Sc. thesis “Geometric Algebra with Conzilla: Building a Conceptual Web of Mathematics”. After searching and reading some more GA material I was suddenly transferred into a new world of algebraic abstractions. I then decided that my Ph.D. will be about exploring Geometric Algebra using the best way I know: developing software. It was a hard and lonely journey to make. About 8 years have passed now developing my tool, GMac, into its current state all by myself passing through difficult events I could only have passed by Allah’s well and mercy.

In this post and the next, I talk about this journey and some of the lessons I learned along the way. I talk about how the current GMac design came to appear and the joys I found learning the hard way that profound belief 1, solid foundation, clear goals, and lots of patience are together the only way to realizing distant dreams.

GMac: The Next Generation (2 of 2)
Planning for the next generation of GMac began in August 2011. I started to design the new version of GMac from scratch by reading significant parts of Terence Parr’s book “Language Implementation Patterns” 1, Robert W. Sebesta’s classic book “Concepts of Programming Languages“, and the second edition of the bestseller Dragon Book “Compilers: Principles, Techniques, and Tools“. I had learned many lessons during developing the first GMac prototype. These books provided a solid conceptual framework for designing the new version of GMac containing all the lessons I’d learned before.

In the previous post, I talked about the first part of my journey developing GMac, the fascinating discoveries I made, and the difficulties I faced along the way. In this final part, I explain the design decisions I made for GMac and how I came to select them, in addition to the developments I hope to make in the future.

The GA Interviews Series
A series of interviews with key researchers developing and applying GA in their work, and sharing their valuable insights and experiences.

A new post in this series:

  • Visualizing Scientific Insights: The area of Scientific Visualization (SciViz) is an interdisciplinary branch of science. The purpose of scientific visualization is to graphically illustrate scientific data to enable scientists to understand, illustrate, and glean insight from their data. In this post, I interview Dr. Werner Benger who describes his views on SciViz using Geometric Algebra and provides valuable insights about the use of SciViz in Big Data applications.

Previous posts in this series:

  • Knowing About the World via GIS: Dr. Yu Zhaoyuan explains the importance of Geographical Information Science (GIS) and the potential of Geometric Algebra as a mathematical modeling tool in this fascinating field of study.
  • Founders of Geometric Calculus: Dr. Garret Sobczyk tells us about his fascinating life journey with Prof. David Hestenes. Their journey eventually inspired many researchers to follow their lead in learning, developing, and applying Geometric Algebra and Geometric Calculus to many fields of science.
  • Geometric Algebra in Computer Science: Dr. Leo Dorst, Dr. Dietmar Hildenbrand, and Dr. Eckhard Hitzer are 3 key researchers who apply Geometric Algebra in their work to share their valuable experience and insights. Their applied research spans many applications in computer science including Computer Graphics, Robotics, Computer Vision, Image Processing, Neural Computing, and more.
  • Cybernetics with Transdisciplinary Geometric Algebra: Professor Eduardo Bayro-Corrochano is a leading cyberneticist who uses Geometric Algebra to handle the diverse fields of theoretical knowledge and practical application he needs. Such fields include Robotics, Neural Computing, Computer Vision, and Lie Algebras. Prof. Eduardo Bayro tells us about how using GA in his work can simplify dealing with such diverse fields, and how can GA relate, generalize, and unify ideas from these fields together in his mind and the minds of his students.

New and Updated Pages:

If you think this new content is useful, please support the GA Explorer website efforts to make GA a popular mathematical tool by sharing this email with your friends and colleagues.

Source: Dr. Ahmad Eid <ga.computing.eg_AT_gmail.com>, 01/03/2017 22:02

Leave a comment

Filed under publications

Leave a Reply

